Getting old is not a life sentence!

It’s time to let the grey hairs shine

oldWhen the $35 hairdresser I visited recently commisserated that her handiwork would remove all my fake hair colouring, I wasn’t entirely upset. In some ways it was quite refreshing to see what hue my locks really were under all that dye. As it turns out, a bland shade of silver-streaked mouse. Oh well, it’s all my own.

Probably as I’ve dipped over the hill of 50, I’ve got more interested in things of an ageing perspective. And I’m pleased to say there are enough positive, active and inspiring role models ahead of me in age to reassure me that there’s plenty still to live for.

People like a 77-year-old I heard about recently. He puts in a 45+ hour, six-day week as a volunteer budget advisor. To emphasise, that’s volunteer, no pay, doing it for love.

Or the 78-year-old publisher I spoke to this morning, who has bravely launched what he believes will be his swansong – a monthly magazine for senior folk.

Or the 80-something woman my neighbour told me about, who belongs to a social marching band! They don’t do competitions; they just march in time to the music for the sheer joy of it.

Way to go, Peeps! (Or should that be Pops?)

Who in their 60s, 70s, 80s or beyond inspires you? Would love your feedback.



Leave a comment